PRAYER FOR A LOST MITTEN

79 min, documentary, Canada, 2019. Best Canadian Feature Documentary Award at Hotdocs Festival
Directed byJean-François Lesage
Produced byLes Films de l'Autre
Languagefrench/english/creole
Regis du cinemas, general

Film details

Synopsis

Night has fallen and Montreal is under a blanket of snow. At the City Transit Company, people line up at the lost and found office where upon reflection, losing something becomes a symbol of a deeper loss. This creative documentary is sometimes melancholic, sometimes festive yet always compassionate. In fact, it makes you appreciate Winter.

 

Crédits

Written and Directed by : Jean-François Lesage

Photography : Marianne Ploska

Editing :Mathieu Bouchard-Malo and Ariane Pétel-Despots

Sound : Marie-Andrée Cormier

Sound Design : Marie-Pierre Grenier

Sound Mix : Olivier Germain

Music : Tom Brunt

Produced by : Les Films de l’Autre, Jean-François Lesage

 

Director's statement

With Prayer for a Lost Mitten, I set out to explore the ideas of loss and longing — a longing for what is lost. From the get-go, I wanted to imbue my work with a certain nostalgia, which I did by filming in black-and-white and adding a jazz soundtrack, nodding to certain key films of the 60s. I also felt the Lost & Found at the Société de transport de Montréal would be a great place to start looking for protagonists. I wasn’t wrong.

My approach revolves around the notion that anyone could be the subject of a documentary. Everyone has something interesting to say; you just need to take the time to listen. It’s a question of perception. This theory, so rich in creative possibility, was however put to the test during the shoot, when my protagonists proved averse to spending long hours outdoors through the cold winter nights with my team. They ended up being less generous with us than they might have been during a summer shoot. Entirely understandable, of course.

But for me the theory still holds. To up the nostalgia factor further still, my working method is inspired by the 1974 Harmonium classic “Un Musicien Parmi Tant d’Autres” and its anthemic line:

On a mis quelqu’un au monde,

on devrait peut-être l’écouter

 

Which roughly translates to: “We’ve brought someone into this world, we should perhaps listen to them.”

Direction

Jean-François Lesage

After studying law, Jean-François Lesage began his career as a journalist for Radio-Canada television in Alberta and British Columbia. At the end of the 90s, everything changed: shaken by the discovery of Chinese cinema, he flew to Beijing. He lived there for six years and made his first creative documentary, Sweet Nights Sour Nights (2004), then with his brother Philippe Lesage, How Can You Tell if the Little Fish are Happy? (2009). Back in Montreal, he directed A Mile End Tale (2013), closing film for Visions du Réel 2014, then A Summer Love (2015), winner of the Grand Prize for Best Canadian Feature at the RIDM. This was followed by The Hidden River (2017), Special Jury Prize Canadian feature at the RIDM, and his sixth film, Prayer for a Lost Mitten (2020), Best Canadian Feature Film Award at Hot Docs.

 

Filmographie

 

Prayor for a Lost Mitten (2020 / 79 min)

The Hidden River (2017 / 75 min)

A Summer Love (2015 / 63 min)
A Mile End Tale (2013 / 68 min)
How can you tell if the little fish are happy? (2009 / 100 min)
Sweet Nights Sour Nights (2004 / 52 min)

Awards

HotDocs Festival
Best Canadian Feature Documentary Award Toronto

PRIÈRE POUR UNE MITAINE PERDUE

79 min, documentaire, Canada, 2020. Gagnant du Meilleur Documentaire Canadien à Hotdocs Festival
RéalisationJean-François Lesage
ProductionLes Films de l'Autre
LangueFrançais/Anglais/Créole
Regis du cinemas, general

Détails du film

Synopsis

La nuit tombe. Il neige sur Montréal. Des gens font la file au bureau des objets perdus de la société des transports. Tous ont perdu un objet qui, quand on s’y attarde, devient le symbole d’une perte plus profonde. Prière pour une mitaine perdue est un documentaire de création — par moment mélancolique, par moment festif, toujours amoureux — qui aide à traverser l’hiver.

 

Crédits

Scénario et réalisation : Jean-François Lesage

Direction photo : Marianne Ploska

Montage : Mathieu Bouchard-Malo and Ariane Pétel-Despots

Prise de son : Marie-Andrée Cormier

Conception sonore : Marie-Pierre Grenier

Mixage sonore : Olivier Germain

Musique : Tom Brunt

Produit par : Les Films de l’Autre, Jean-François Lesage

 

Mot du cinéaste

Avec Prière pour une mitaine perdue, je souhaitais aborder le thème de la perte et du désir d’un retour. Mon intention était de me tremper dans la nostalgie en faisant un film en noir et blanc avec une bande sonore jazz comme certaines œuvres phares des années 60. Je me suis également dit que le Bureau des objets trouvés de la STM serait un excellent point de départ pour y repérer mes protagonistes. Ce fut bien le cas.

Au cœur de ma démarche, il y a l’idée que toute personne pourrait faire l’objet d’un documentaire. Je crois que la parole de chacun de nous peut être intéressante si on l’écoute : c’est une question de regard. Cette hypothèse, qui m’aide dans la création, a cependant été mise à rude épreuve pendant le tournage parce que les protagonistes n’étaient pas enclins à passer de longues heures dehors avec mon équipe pendant les nuits froides d’hiver – ça se comprend. Ils étaient moins généreux avec nous que pendant un tournage d’été. Malgré tout, je continue de croire fermement à cette idée. Pour donner encore un peu dans la nostalgie, ma méthode de travail s’inspire de la chanson d’Harmonium : « On a mis quelqu’un au monde, on devrait peut-être l’écouter ».

 

Réalisation

Jean-François Lesage

Après des études de droit, Jean-François Lesage fait ses débuts comme journaliste pour la télévision de Radio-Canada en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. À la fin des années 90, tout bascule : bouleversé par la découverte du cinéma chinois, il s’envole vers Pékin. Il y vivra six ans et y réalisera son premier documentaire de création, Une nuit en Chine (2004), puis avec son frère Philippe Lesage, Comment savoir si les petits poissons sont heureux ? (2009). De retour à Montréal, il réalise Conte du Mile End (2013), film de clôture de Visions du Réel 2014, puis Un amour d’été (2015), Grand prix de la compétition nationale longs métrages des RIDM. Suivent La rivière cachée (2017), Prix spécial du jury de la compétition nationale longs métrages des RIDM et son sixième film, Prière pour une mitaine perdue (2020), Prix du meilleur long métrage canadien à Hot Docs.

 

Filmographie

 

Prière pour une mitaine perdue (2021 / 79 min)

La rivière cachée (2017 / 75min)

Un amour d’été (2015 / 62 min)
Conte du Mile End (2013 / 68 min)
Comment savoir si les petits poissons sont heureux? (2009 / 100 min)
Une nuit en Chine (2004 / 52 min)

 

Prix et mentions

Hot Docs 2020
Meilleur Documentaire Canadien Toronto
RIDM 2020
Prix spécial du Jury dans la compétition nationale Longs métrages Montréal
Vancouver International Film Festival 2020
Special mention - Best Canadian Documentary award competition Vancouver
CUFF.Docs Documentary Film Festival 2020
Best Documentary Feature Award Calgary
Gala Québec Cinéma / Prix IRIS 2021
Meilleur son | Film documentaire Montréal
Festival Cinéma du monde de Sherbrooke 2021
Cercle d’or Meilleur documentaire Sherbrooke
Prix Écrans Canadiens
Meilleures images dans un long métrage documentaire Canada