CHAMPIONS

94 min, Documentary, Quebec, Canada, 2020
Directed byHelgi Piccinin
Produced byPhilippe Miquel
LanguageEnglish/French with English/French subtitles
Short descriptionThe director follows Stéphane, his autistic brother, and Audrey, his atypical friend, on a sports odyssey that takes them from Canada to Dubai to participate in the Special Olympics World Games.

Film details

Synopsis

Champions is a documentary in which the director follows the quests of his autistic brother Stéphane and his atypical friend Audrey. Born with an intellectual difference, Stéphane and Audrey want to prove to the world that they too can win medals. They found a passion in athletics competitions at the provincial and national levels and have now set their sights on the international stage. For three intense years marked by training and two championships, we follow them until the end of their ambitious dream, that of competing at the Special Olympics World Games in Dubai. Intertwining both the sports odyssey and the human portrait, this feel-good documentary offers an immersion into a fascinating world where athletes with an “intellectual difference” are at the forefront.

 

Credits

Written and directed by Helgi Piccinin

Produced by Philippe Miquel

Cinematography : Helgi Piccinin

Editing : Juliette Guérin

Sound Design : Jérémie Jones and Benoît Dame

Sound Mix : Benoît Dame

Music : Pierre-Luc Lecours

Sound Recording : Philippe Miquel

 

Director

Helgi Piccinin

Since 2005, Quebec independent filmmaker Helgi Piccinin has developed a unique and intimate approach to documentary cinema, showing a profound sensitivity to the poetry of the everyday and to the themes of identity and difference. He has created several short and medium-length films which have been widely distributed and immerse his viewers in unusual or uncharted universes. Educated in Quebec and France, he gained rich field experiences, first travelling the world and then shooting films in Quebec, Canada, and the United States. Featuring his autistic brother, his first full-length documentary, Champions, reflects an even more personal approach.

 

 

Filmography 

 

Belief Disbelief (2016, 15min, documentary)

Roof Runners (Fr: Coureurs des toits, 2015, 40min, documentaire)

In Saint-Sauveur Neighborhood (Fr: Dans le coin du Saint-Sauveur, 2012, 10min, documentary)

Of Insects and Men (Fr:Des insectes et des hommes, 2011, 10min, documentary)

La Voz del padre (2010, 9min, fiction)

Peace Only (Fr: La paix seulement, 2008, 7min, fiction)

Hypocraty (2005, 30min, documentary)

CHAMPIONS

94 min, Documentaire, Canada, 2020
RéalisationHelgi Piccinin
ProductionPhilippe Miquel - Les Vues de l'Esprit
LangueAnglais/Français avec sous-titres anglais/français
Description courteLe réalisateur accompagne Stéphane, son frère autiste, et Audrey, son amie atypique, dans une odyssée sportive qui les mène du Canada jusqu’à Dubaï pour participer aux Jeux mondiaux des Olympiques spéciaux.

Détails du film

Synopsis

Champions est un documentaire dans lequel le réalisateur suit la quête de son frère autiste Stéphane, ainsi que celle de son amie atypique Audrey. Nés avec une différence intellectuelle, Stéphane et Audrey veulent prouver à la terre entière qu’eux aussi savent gagner des médailles. Ils se sont trouvé une passion dans la compétition d’athlétisme à échelon provincial et national. Ils visent maintenant la consécration internationale. Pendant trois années intenses marquées par des entraînements et deux championnats, nous les suivons jusqu’au bout de leur ambitieux rêve, celui de concourir aux Jeux mondiaux des Olympiques spéciaux de Dubaï. Entremêlant à la fois l’odyssée sportive et le portrait humain, ce “feel-good” documentaire offre une immersion dans un univers fascinant où des athlètes présentant une « différence intellectuelle » sont au tout premier plan.

 

Équipe

Réalisation et scénario : Helgi Piccinin

Directeur photo : Helgi Piccinin

Montage : Juliette Guérin

Conception sonore : Benoît Dame

Montage sonore : Jérémie Jones

Mixage sonore : Benoît Dame

Musique : Pierre-Luc Lecours

Prise de son : Philippe Miquel

Protagonistes : Stéphane Piccinin, Audrey Vincent

Réalisateur

Helgi Piccinin

Cinéaste indépendant québécois, Helgi Piccinin développe depuis 2005 une approche documentaire marquée par une grande sensibilité à la poésie du quotidien et aux thèmes de l’identité et de la différence. Il a créé plusieurs courts et moyens métrages largement diffusés qui proposent une immersion dans des univers inusités ou méconnus. Formé en cinéma au Québec et en France, il a acquis une riche expérience sur le terrain, d’abord en parcourant le monde, puis en tournant au Québec, au Canada et aux États-Unis. Mettant en vedette son frère autiste, son premier long métrage Champions témoigne d’une approche encore plus personnelle.

 

 

Filmographie

 

Belief Disbelief (2016, 15 min, documentaire)
Coureurs des toits (2015, 40 min, documentaire)
Dans le coin du Saint-Sauveur (2012, 10 min, documentaire)
Des insectes et des hommes (2011, 10 min, documentaire)
La Voz del padre (2010, 9 min, fiction)
La paix seulement (2008, 7 min, fiction)
Hypocratie (2005, 30 min, documentaire)