DANNY IN THE SKY

88 min., Fiction, Québec, Canada, 2001
Directed byDenis Langlois
Produced byLes productions Castor & Pollux inc.
LanguageFrench
Short description

Danny wants to become part of a society that values luxury, glamour and appearances above all, by becoming a model.

Film details

Synopsis

The son of a gay dad and a top model mom who died of an overdose when he was still young, Danny is looking for love. He wants to become part of a society that values luxury, glamour and appearances above all, by becoming a model. He takes modeling to its extreme and becomes a stripper, and finally finds the love he was looking for on the set of a porno shoot, with Karine, a photographer who’s as voyeuristic as he is exhibitionnist.  But destiny soon catches up with him…

 

Credits

Director : Denis Langlois

Screenplay : Bertrand Lachance et Denis Langlois
Cinematography : Stefan Ivanov

Editing : Natacha Dufaux

Score : Simon Wayland, Peter Xirogiannis, Phil York

Production : Bertrand Lachance et Denis Langlois

 

With : Thierry Pépin, Véronique Jenkins

Director's statement

25 years ago…

 

In 1994, Bertrand Lachance and I founded Castor & Pollux Productions to produce the films no other producers wanted, films about Aids, male identity and homophobia. Films that are socially engaged but also entertaining – you could say sexy and romantic! Enjoy!

Director

Denis Langlois

Denis Langlois graduated from Concordia’s University Film program in Montreal. After My life, The Escort, Danny in the Sky and Amnesia – The James Brighton Enigma, winner of best Canadian film at Inside Out Film Festival (Toronto) and Audience Award at LLamale H International Film Festival (Montevideo, Uruguay), he releases A Paradise Too Far in 2017, winner of best feature at Picture This! Film Festival (Calgary). Most of his films were released in France, the USA, the UK, Ireland and Germany. His partner at Castor & Pollux Productions, cowriter and producer Bertrand Lachance has worked with him on all these films.

DANNY IN THE SKY

88 min., Fiction, Québec, Canada, 2001
RéalisationDenis Langlois
ProductionLes productions Castor & Pollux inc.
LangueFrançais
Description courte

Danny souhaite, par le mannequinat, intégrer une société qui valorise luxe, glamour et apparence.

Détails du film

Synopsis

Le fils d’un père gay et d’une mère top modèle morte d’une overdose alors qu’il était tout jeune, Danny est un jeune homme à la recherche d’amour. À l’image d’une société qui place le luxe, le glamour et les apparences au-dessus de tout, Danny veut devenir mannequin, malgré l’opposition farouche de son père. Son apprentissage tourne au drame et il abandonne tout. Sa quête d’identité l’entraîne du monde de la mode à celui des strip-teaseurs où il explore ses motivations profondes. Sur le plateau d’un tournage porno, il trouve enfin l’amour, avec Karine, une photographe aussi voyeure qu’il est exhibitionniste. Mais sa destinée a vite fait de le rattraper…

 

 

Équipe

Réalisation : Denis Langlois

Scénario : Bertrand Lachance et Denis Langlois
Direction de la photo : Stefan Ivanov

Montage : Natacha Dufaux

Musique : Simon Wayland, Peter Xirogiannis, Phil York

Production : Bertrand Lachance et Denis Langlois

 

Avec : Thierry Pépin, Véronique Jenkins

Mot du réalisateur

25 ans déjà!

 

En 1994, Bertrand Lachance et moi avons fondé Les productions Castor & Pollux pour faire les films dont aucun producteur ne voulait à l’époque, des films traitant de Sida, de représentation masculine et d’homophobie. Des films engagés donc, mais divertissants aussi – lire sexy et romantique! Bon visionnement!

Réalisateur

Denis Langlois

Denis Langlois est diplômé du programme Cinéma de l’Université Concordia. Issu de la scène du cinéma indépendant montréalais, il a été actif au sein de Main Film et de Cinéma Libre avant de fonder avec d’autres cinéastes le distributeur Les Films du 3 Mars (F3M). Après Ma vie, L’Escorte, Danny in the Sky et Amnésie – L’Énigme James Brighton, gagnant du meilleur long métrage au Festival Inside Out Film (Toronto) et du Prix du public au Festival de Film International LLamale H (Montevideo, Uruguay), il sort en 2017 Y’est où le paradis?, gagnant du meilleur long métrage au Festival Picture This! (Calgary). La plupart de ses films sont sortis à l’international en France, aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni, en Irlande et en Allemagne. Son partenaire des Productions Castor & Pollux, coscénariste et producteur Bertrand Lachance a également travaillé avec lui sur tous ces films.