THE AMINA PROFILE

85min, Documentary, Quebec, Canada, 2015
Directed byDeraspe, Sophie
Produced byIsabelle Couture
Languagefrench/english
Short descriptionDuring the Arab revolution, a love story between two women – a Canadian and a Syrian American – turns into an international socio-political thriller spotlighting media excesses and the thin line between truth and falsehood on the Internet.

Buy the DVD

Press reviews

The Amina Profile is an absorbing, artfully assembled and timely reconstruction of a fascinating digital-age hoax.
The Hollywood Reporter The film moves fluidly between surreal enactments and the more standard talking-head footage, while composer Sam Shalabi’s Middle Eastern-flavored reverb injects a steady dose of anxiety. Variety

Film details

Synopsis

Amina Arraf, a pretty Syrian-American revolutionary who’s having an online affair with Montrealer Sandra Bagaria, launches the provocatively named blog «A Gay Girl in Damascus». As the Syrian uprising gains momentum, the blog attracts a huge following. But it’s Amina’s subsequent abduction that sparks an international outcry to free her. Telling a detective story that involves various intelligence agencies and global media empires, the film travels from San Francisco and Washington to Istanbul, Tel Aviv and Beirut to meet the key players in this quest to reveal the real Amina. This thoroughly modern tale of technology, love and news-as-spectacle questions the ways in which people connect in today’s virtual world. The Amina Profile is part love story, part international thriller, and a gripping chronicle of an unprecedented media and sociological hoax.

 

Credits
Screenplay and direction : Sophie Deraspe
Image : Sophie Deraspe

Sound conception: Frédéric Cloutier

Sound mixing: Luc Boudrias
Editing : Geoffrey Boulangé et Sophie Deraspe
Music : Sam Shalabi
Production : Isabelle Couture (Esperamos)

 

Financial partners

SODEC

Téléfilm Canada

Conseil des arts du Canada
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

NFB

SuperChannel

Shaw Media

Director

Deraspe, Sophie

Sophie Deraspe fell into cinema through visual arts and literature. She had worked mostly for documentaries, as both a director and a cinematographer, before directing her realism-bending first feature length film Missing Victor Pellerin (2006). Thanks to critical acclaim and projections throughout the world, Sophie’s realistic work has continued with her second feature film Vital Signs in 2009. It premiered at the Montreal Nouveau Cinema Festival and in Rotterdam and won 15 awards in more than 30 festivals around the world and was sold to many countries. In Quebec it was nominated for best picture by the Jutra’s jury. In 2015, her feature film The Wolves opened Les Rendez-vous du cinéma québécois and her documentary The Profil Amina was selected at the Sundance Film Festival.

 

Filmography

 

The Wolves (2015 / 107 min)

The Profil Amina (2015 / 84 min)

Vital Signs (2009 / 88 min)

Missing Victor Pellerin (2006 / 102 min)

LE PROFIL AMINA

85min, Documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2015
RéalisationDeraspe, Sophie
ProductionIsabelle Couture
Languefrançais/anglais
Description courte

Lors de la révolution Arabe, une histoire d'amour entre deux femmes - une Canadienne et une Syrienne Américaine - se transforme en polar socio-politique d'envergure internationale, mettant en lumière les débordements médiatiques et la mince ligne qui sépare le vrai du faux sur Internet.


Acheter le DVD

Critiques de presse

Puissant, brillant. André Duchesne, La Presse Un documentaire qui a l’intelligence d’élargir le cadre et de faire avancer la réflexion. Voir

Détails du film

Synopsis

Amina Arraf, jolie révolutionnaire Américano-Syrienne, entame une relation érotique en ligne avec Sandra Bagaria, jeune professionnelle montréalaise, avant d’initier un blog au nom provocateur de «A Gay Girl in Damascus» (Une fille gaie à Damas). Alors que la révolution syrienne se met en place, le succès du blog est fulgurant. Mais c’est le kidnapping d’Amina qui déclenche une mobilisation internationale pour la faire libérer. Tel un polar impliquant les services secrets et les grands médias du monde, le film nous conduit de San Francisco à Istanbul, de Washington à Tel Aviv, en passant par Beyrouth, à la rencontre des personnes qui ont joué un rôle clé dans cette histoire technologiquement unique à notre époque, celle des relations et de l’information virtuelles. Le Profil Amina raconte une histoire d’amour à laquelle se superpose une enquête internationale, puis un dérapage médiatique et sociologique sans précédent.

 

Équipe
Scénario et réalisation : Sophie Deraspe
Direction photo : Sophie Deraspe

Conception sonore: Frédéric Cloutier

Mixage sonore: Luc Boudrias
Montage : Geoffrey Boulangé et Sophie Deraspe
Musique : Sam Shalabi
Production : Isabelle Couture (Esperamos)

 

Partenaires financiers

SODEC

Téléfilm Canada

Conseil des arts du Canada
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

ONF

SuperChannel

Shaw Media

Réalisateur

Deraspe, Sophie

Ce sont les arts visuels et la littérature qui ont conduit Sophie Deraspe vers le cinéma. En tant que directrice photo ou réalisatrice, elle fait plusieurs incursions dans le documentaire avant de réaliser un premier long-métrage de fiction, Rechercher Victor Pellerin (2006), qui joue avec les codes du réel. Fort d’un succès critique et de multiples projections à travers le monde, le travail de Sophie Deraspe se poursuit avec la réalisation en 2009 d’un second long-métrage, tout aussi empreint de réalisme, Les signes vitaux. Depuis sa première internationale à Rotterdam, Les signes vitaux a été primé 14 fois dans une trentaine de festivals internationaux. Au Québec, il a été finaliste au Jutra du meilleur film. L’année 2015 est prolifique pour Sophie Deraspe qui ouvre Les Rendez-vous du cinéma québécois avec le film de fiction Les Loups, et qui lance le documentaire Le Profil Amina, au festival de Sundance.

 

Filmographie

 

Les Loups (2015 / 107 min)

Le Profil Amina (2015 / 84 min)

Les signes vitaux (2009 / 88 min)

Rechercher Victor Pellerin (2006 / 102 min)