METRO

17 min, Short film, Quebec, Canada, 2015
Directed byGomez, Nadine
Produced byNicolas Dufour-Laperrière
LanguageSilent film
Short description

With a renewed look at space and the life that indwells it, Metro revisits the movements and the mechanics of a monumental underground network that weaves and connects the city of Montreal together.

Film details

Synopsis
With its impressive vast ceilings and singular acoustics, Metro reveals a place of unique magnitude with a strong human presence that is in constant motion. This film is an invitation to rediscover an intriguing world in all its dimensions and the very breath that animates it.

 

Credits

Direction : Nadine Gomez

Screenplay : Gabriel Dufour-Laperrière et Nadine Gomez
Image : Nicolas Canniccioni et François Messier-Rheault
Editing : Natalie Lamoureux

Sound : Stephen de Oliveira

Music and sound conception : Gabriel Dufour-Laperrière

Production : Nicolas Dufour-Laperrière

 

Financial partners

SODEC

ONF – Aide au Cinéma Indépendant

Conseil des arts de Montréal

Director

Gomez, Nadine

A graduate from UQÀM, Nadine Gomez completed a master’s degree in Communications at L’École des médias. She’s been passionate about urban issues ever since, which greatly influences her worldview. Released in 2012, Le Horse Palace, her documentary feature debut, entitled, The Horse Palace raises questions about the transformations of the urban space. In 2015, she won the first “Regards sur Montréal” film residency (CAM, ONF, SODEC), which allowed her to direct Métro, a short documentary essay taking a fresh look at Montreal’s underground network and its unique, imposing architecture. Her second feature, Exarcheia, the Chanting of Birds, is a nocturnal stroll through a politically active neighbourhood of Athens. It launched at the RIDM in 2018.

 

In addition to creating and collaborating on various projects (the J’aime Hydro podcast, unique works, web productions), she has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Conseil des arts de Montréal since 2018, acting as the president of the film committee.

 

Filmography

 

Exarcheia (2018 / 73 min)

Métro (2015 / 17 min)

The Horse Palace (2012 / 68 min)

MÉTRO

17 min, Court-métrage, Québec, Canada, 2015
RéalisationGomez, Nadine
ProductionNicolas Dufour-Laperrière
Languesans dialogue
Description courte

En posant un regard renouvelé sur les espaces qui le constituent et sur la vie qui l’habite, Métro observe les gestes, la mécanique et les dessous de ce réseau souterrain monumental qui tisse la ville et l’irrigue au quotidien.

Détails du film

Synopsis
Du vrombissement de l’aération aux vastes plafonds qui le surplombe, Métro révèle un lieu d’une ampleur rare, à l’acoustique singulière et avec une présence humaine en mouvement constant. Ce film est une invitation à redécouvrir, dans ses plus surprenantes dimensions, cet univers intriguant et le souffle qui l’anime.

 

Équipe

Réalisation : Nadine Gomez

Scénario : Gabriel Dufour-Laperrière et Nadine Gomez
Direction photo : Nicolas Canniccioni et François Messier-Rheault
Montage : Natalie Lamoureux

Son : Stephen de Oliveira

Musique et conception sonore : Gabriel Dufour-Laperrière

Production : Nicolas Dufour-Laperrière

 

Partenaires financiers

SODEC

ONF – Aide au Cinéma Indépendant

Conseil des arts de Montréal

Réalisatrice

Gomez, Nadine

Diplômée de l’UQÀM, Nadine Gomez a complété une maîtrise en communication à l’école des médias. Les questions urbaines la passionnent depuis et lui servent de filtre pour penser le monde. Lancé en 2012, Le Horse Palace est son premier long-métrage documentaire et questionne les transformations dans l’espace urbain. En 2015, elle est récipiendaire de la première bourse « Regards sur Montréal » (CAM, ONF, SODEC) avec laquelle elle réalise Métro, un court essai documentaire qui pose un regard renouvelé sur le réseau souterrain montréalais et son architecture unique et imposante. Son deuxième long-métrage, Exarcheia, le chant des oiseaux, une déambulation nocturne dans un quartier politique d’Athènes, a été lancé en compétition nationale aux RIDM 2018.

 

En plus de créer et développer différents projets (J’aime Hydro en baladodiffusion, œuvres uniques, réalisation web), elle siège, depuis 2018, comme membre du CA du Conseil des arts de Montréal en tant que présidente du comité cinéma.

 

Filmographie

 

Exarcheia, le chant des oiseaux, 73 min, 2018

Métro, 17 min, 2015 ©Embuscade Films

Le Horse Palace, 68 min, 2012 ©Argus Films