A MILE END TALE

68 min, Documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2013
Directed byJean-François Lesage
Produced byJean-François Lesage
LanguageFrench/English
Short descriptionA night walk in the Mile End neighborhood of Montreal, reflecting on disillusioned love.
Film subjects The Americas , Urban Planning , Youth

Buy the DVD

Press reviews

A must-watch! The MainMTL

Film details

Synopsis
When human souls break up, they seem irreconcilable. Is there an antidote for heartbreak? Wandering through his neighbourhood after dusk, a young man, searching for answers, inspires friends and strangers to open their hearts to him. Encounters, confessions, slips: the autumn night sheds inhibitions.

 

Credits

Direction of photography :

Editing : Mathieu Bouchard-Malo, Ariane Pétel-Despots

Online Editing : Sylvain Cossette, Mauricio Salas
Sound Design : Alexis Pilon-Gladu

Sound Recording : Jean-François Lesage
Music : Meta Gruau

Sound Mixing : Bruno Bélanger

Production : Jean-François Lesage

 

Financial partners

PRIM

Direction

Jean-François Lesage

After studying law, Jean-François Lesage began his career as a journalist for Radio-Canada television in Alberta and British Columbia. In 1998, shaken by the discovery of Chinese cinema, he headed to Beijing, where he was to spend six years. This is where he directed his first creative documentary, Sweet Nights Sour Nights (2004). He followed this up with How Can You Tell if the Little Fish are Happy? (2009) co-directed with his brother Philippe Lesage. Back in Montréal, he then made A Mile End Tale (2013), the closing film at Visions du Réel 2014, followed by A Summer Love (2015), winner of the Grand Prize for Best Canadian Feature at the RIDM. The Hidden River (2017), his fourth feature, won the Special Jury Prize (Canadian feature) at the RIDM

  Filmographie   The Hidden River (2017 / 75 min) A Summer Love (2015 / 63 min) A Mile End Tale (2013 / 68 min) How can you tell if the little fish are happy? (2009 / 100 min) Sweet Nights Sour Nights (2004 / 52 min)

Awards

Visions du réel
Film du clôture Nyon, Suisse

CONTE DU MILE END

68 min, documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2013
RéalisationJean-François Lesage
ProductionJean-François Lesage
Languefrançais/anglais
Description courtePromenade nocturne dans le quartier Mile End de Montréal sur le thème des amours déçus.

Acheter le DVD

Critiques de presse

Entre amitié et attirance physique, amour fou et temporaire, le Conte du Mile End de Jean-François Lesage se présente comme une brèche dans le temps, un moment de réflexion nécessaire à notre propre compréhension de ce qui nous touche tous.
Julie Ledoux, Voir

Détails du film

Synopsis
Sur le coup d’une rupture, les âmes humaines paraissent irréconciliables. Où trouver conseil? Suivant un trajet entre la flânerie et la quête, un jeune homme traverse son quartier à une heure tardive. Au hasard des rues et des appartements, des inconnus et des amis se livrent et se racontent. Rencontres, confidences, fuites : la nuit d’automne agit comme révélateur.

 

Équipe

Direction photo et réalisation : Jean-François Lesage

Montage : Mathieu Bouchard-Malo, Ariane Pétel-Despots

Montage en ligne : Sylvain Cossette, Mauricio Salas
Conception sonore : Alexis Pilon-Gladu

Prise de son : Jean-François Lesage
Musique : Meta Gruau

Mixage sonore : Bruno Bélanger

Production : Jean-François Lesage

 

Partenaires financiers

PRIM

Réalisateur

Jean-François Lesage

Après des études de droit, Jean-François Lesage fait ses débuts comme journaliste pour la télévision de Radio-Canada en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. En 1998, bouleversé par la découverte du cinéma chinois, il s’envole pour Pékin. Il y vivra six ans et il y réalisera son premier documentaire de création, Une nuit en Chine (2004), puis avec son frère Philippe Lesage, Comment savoir si les petits poissons sont heureux ? (2009). De retour à Montréal, il réalise Conte du Mile End (2013), film de clôture de Visions du Réel 2014, puis Un amour d’été (2015), Grand prix de la compétition nationale longs métrages des RIDM. La rivière cachée (2017) son quatrième long métrage a remporté le Prix spécial du jury de la compétition nationale longs métrages des RIDM.

 

Filmographie

 

La rivière cachée (2017 / 75min)

Un amour d’été (2015 / 62 min)
Conte du Mile End (2013 / 68 min)
Comment savoir si les petits poissons sont heureux? (2009 / 100 min)
Une nuit en Chine (2004 / 52 min)

 

Archive des projections

Cinéma Moderne
dimanche 30 septembre, 2018 Montréal

Prix et mentions

Visions du réel
Film du clôture Nyon, Suisse