DESTIERROS

92 min, Documentary, Quebec, Canada, 2017
Directed byCaron-Guay, Hubert
Produced byLes Films de l'Autre
LanguageSpanish/English
Short description

Destierros is an immersive experience that puts on screen the confusion and vertigo of the migration route leading to the United-States.


Buy the DVD

Film details

Synopsis

Border mechanisms that act on migrants are many.  Moving from shelter to shelter and hopping on trains, they head up north across Mexico to reach the United States and Canada. During the U.S election, migrants are more than aware that it could be their last chance to cross the border.
Following their trajectory, Destierros draws a path of reclusion. A path where time remains the longest road between two places.

 

Credits
Direction : Hubert Caron-Guay
Photography : Etienne Roussy
Editing : Ariane Pétel-Despots
Sound Design : Samuel Gagnon-Thibodeau
Sound Recording : Hubert Caron-Guay
Sound Mixing : Alexis Pilon-Gladu
Music : Colin Stetson
Production : Hubert Caron-Guay (Les Films de L’Autre)

 

Financial Partners

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

Conseil des arts du Canada

PRIM

Sodec Québec

Les Films de L’Autre

Les Films du 3 Mars

Director's statement

It’s 2014, and I am volunteering at a migrant shelter in Southern Mexico, not far from the Guatemalan border.

 

These people are heading for the United-States and Canada, but they must first go through Mexican shelters. Most of them come from Honduras, Belize, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Salvador; although you can find some Africans who came via South America with a hope of then heading north.

 

To counter the strategies lain down by cartels and migration authorities, migrants share information on the best and worst routes to take, and on the financial resources needed to pay criminal gangs for the tolls they charge.

 

Such hardships create insecurity. Shelters serve as checkpoints at the end of every leg. This segmentation gives the migrants a chance to catch their breath before they move on. For those who reach the next point, the physical and emotional damage induced by what happens between any two shelters can lead to grave disruptions. Traumatic experiences can entirely reshape their behavior. Each shelter is a much-needed breather where they can get in touch with those inner transformations.

 

As I follow migrants on their journey, I intend on exposing both the visible and invisible barriers they face. On the one hand, I seek to unravel the complexity of the power structures affecting them from within and without. On the other, I remain mindful of any moment of introspection that should arise from the exhaustion. In the end, the whole movie builds up on an endless collapse, rooted in everyone’s confusion.

Director

Caron-Guay, Hubert

Hubert Caron-Guay is a producer, director, screenwriter and visual artist. He participated in the foundation of the Épopée group in 2010 where he coordinated and directed the most of his art project until 2015. His practice as a visual artist is at the intersection of cinema and installation art.

 

Filmography

 

Destierros (2017 / 90 min)
Fractures (installation) (2014 / 287 min)
Rupture (2014 / 150 min)
Insurgence (2013 / 137 minutes)
L’État du monde (2012 / 84 minutes)
L’État des lieux (2012 / 205 min)
L’État du moment (2011 / 95 minutes)

DESTIERROS

92 min, documentaire, Québec, Canada, 2017
RéalisationHubert Caron-Guay
ProductionLes Films de l'Autre
Langueespagnol/anglais
Description courte

En mode complètement immersif, Destierros rend compte de la confusion et des vertiges de la route migratoire vers les États-Unis.


Acheter le DVD

Détails du film

Synopsis

Les mécanismes frontaliers qui agissent sur les migrants sont multiples. De refuge en refuge, en empruntant les trains, les migrants prennent direction Nord à travers le Mexique pour atteindre les États-Unis et le Canada. À la veille de l’élection américaine, ils savent que ce pourrait être leur dernière chance de franchir la frontière.

En suivant la trajectoire des migrants, Destierros trace la situation d’une réclusion. Il trace une route où le temps reste encore le chemin le plus long entre deux endroits.

 

Équipe
Réalisation : Hubert Caron-Guay
Direction photo : Etienne Roussy
Montage : Ariane Pétel-Despots
Conception sonore : Samuel Gagnon-Thibodeau
Prise de son : Hubert Caron-Guay
Mixage sonore : Alexis Pilon-Gladu
Musique originale : Colin Stetson
Production : Hubert Caron-Guay (Les Films de L’Autre)

 

Partenaires financiers

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

Conseil des arts du Canada

PRIM

Sodec Québec

Les Films de L’Autre

Les Films du 3 Mars

Mot du réalisateur

En 2014, je me porte volontaire dans un refuge pour personnes migrantes au sud du Mexique, tout près de la frontière du Guatemala.

 

Ceux qui prennent le chemin des États-Unis et du Canada transitent d’abord par les refuges mexicains. Ils proviennent en grande majorité du Honduras, du Belize, du Guatemala, du Nicaragua, du El Salvador, mais il s’agit aussi d’Africains ayant pris le chemin de l’Amérique du Sud avant d’entreprendre leur remontée vers le Nord.

 

Pour pallier la stratégie des cartels et des autorités migratoires, les migrants se partagent des renseignements sur les trajectoires à emprunter, celles à éviter, et sur les ressources financières à disposer pour débourser les droits de passage aux gangs criminels.

 

Les épreuves créent des sentiments d’insécurité. Les refuges sont mandatés pour segmenter ces étapes en permettant de reprendre un souffle. Pour les migrants qui parviennent au prochain refuge, les expériences physiques et émotives accumulées provoquent des chamboulements importants. Certaines épreuves redéfinissent leurs comportements. Chaque refuge devient un arrêt nécessaire pour prendre contact avec ces transformations.

 

Au travers du trajet des migrants, je tente de retracer la multitude de barrières visibles et invisibles qu’ils affrontent. D’un côté, je m’attarde à la complexité des rapports de pouvoirs qui s’exercent sur eux et entre eux. De l’autre, je demeure attentif aux moments d’introspections émanant de l’épuisement. Finalement, le film se construit comme un interminable vertige, qui prend source dans la confusion dans laquelle chacun est enrayé.

Réalisateur

Hubert Caron-Guay

Hubert Caron-Guay est producteur, réalisateur, scénariste et artiste visuel. Il participe à la fondation du Groupe de travail Épopée dès 2010, à titre de coordonnateur et réalisateur des projets du groupe jusqu’en 2015. Sa pratique d’artiste visuel s’inscrit à l’intersection du cinéma et de l’art installatif.

 

Filmographie

 

Destierros (2017 / 90 min)
Fractures (installation) (2014 / 287 min)
Rupture (2014 / 150 min)
Insurgence (2013 / 137 minutes)
L’État du monde (2012 / 84 minutes)
L’État des lieux (2012 / 205 min)
L’État du moment (2011 / 95 minutes)

Archive des projections

Cinémathèque Québécoise
De vendredi 19 janvier, 2018 À jeudi 25 janvier, 2018 Montréal
Station VU
samedi 10 février, 2018 Montréal
Station VU
jeudi 22 février, 2018 Montréal
Ciné-Club du Haut-Richelieu
mercredi 14 mars, 2018 St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Parc Molson
jeudi 02 août, 2018 Montréal